Skip to content

Commencement

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Ceremonies

View this Commencement Parking pdf for information on department and school ceremonies.

Aerospace Studies (Air Force ROTC)
Saturday, May 10, 10:00am
Steps of South Building
Courtney Phillipie, cmpoythr@email.unc.edu, 919-962-2074

African & Afro-American Studies
Saturday, May 10, 1:00pm
Sonjya Haynes Stone Center
Travis Gore, stgore@email.unc.edu, 919-966-5496

Anthropology & Archeology
Sunday, May 11, 12:00pm
Gerrard Hall
Margie Scarry, scarry@email.unc.edu, 919-962-3841
Lisa-Jean Michienzi, michienz@email.unc.edu, 919-962-6574

Art
Sunday, May 11, 12:30pm
Hanes Art Center Auditorium 121
Robert Kintz, rkintz@email.unc.edu, 919-962-0724

Asian Studies
Sunday, May 11, 11:00am – Reception only
New West Room 219
Lori Harris, leharris@email.unc.edu, 919-843-5340

Biology
Saturday, May 10, 3:30pm
Carmichael Arena
Summer Montgomery, sundance@unc.edu, 919-962-3390
Biology Graduation Ceremony

Buckley Public Service Scholars
Friday, May 9, 5:00pm
Memorial Hall
Rhonda Beatty, rbeatty@email.unc.edu, 919-843-6993

Chemistry
Sunday, May 11, 12:00pm
Friday Center Grumman Auditorium and Central Atrium
Donnyell Batts, dlbatts@unc.edu, 919-843-7827

City and Regional Planning
Friday, May 9, 5:00pm
Great Hall, Student Union
Vivian Matthews, vivian_matthews@unc.edu, 919-962-4784

Classics
Sunday, May 11, 12:00pm
Murphey Hall Room 116
Kim Miles, kmiles@email.unc.edu, 919-962-7192

Communication Studies
Sunday, May 11, 12:30pm
Smith Center Court
Marcus Donie, donid@unc.edu, 919-962-2311

Computer Science
Sunday, May 11, 1:00pm
Carroll Hall Auditorium

Biomedical Engineering 
Sunday, May 11, 12:30pm
Murray Hall G202
Rich Goldberg, r.goldberg@unc.edu, 919-966-5768
Jaime Blosser-Byrd, jnbyrd@email.unc.edu, 919-843-4473

Div. Clinical Laboratory Science / Dept. Allied Health Sciences
Sunday, May 11, 11:30am
Wilson Library Assembly Room
Dr. Vicky LeGrys, vlegrys@med.unc.edu, 919-843-4473

Div. Speech and Hearing Sciences / Dept. Allied Health Sciences
Saturday, May 10, 3:30pm
Friday Center Grumman Auditorium and Central Atrium
Ina Diana, idiana@med.unc.edu 919-966-1007

Dramatic Art
Sunday, May 11, 1:00pm
Center for Dramatic Art’s Paul Green Theatre
Jeffrey Blair Cornell, jeffcornell@unc.edu, 919-843-9857

Economics
Sunday, May 11, 11:30am
Fed Ex Global Ed Bldg.
Victoria Walker, vwwalker@email.unc.edu, 919-962-2534

English and Comparative Literature
Saturday, May 10, 2:00pm
Paul Green Theatre
Tara Cowen, tlcowan@email.unc.edu, 919-962-5484

Entrepreneurship Minor
Saturday, May 10, 12:00pm
Anne Queen Lounge
Cate Tidwell, tidwellc@live.unc.edu, 919-843-2689

Exercise and Sport Science
Sunday, May 11, 12:00pm
Fetzer Gym A
Ashley McCullen, amcculle@email.unc.edu, 919-962-2022

Geography
Sunday, May 11, 11:00am
Saunders Hall Room 220
Nell Phillips, nphillip@email.unc.edu, 919-962-8902

Geological Sciences
Sunday, May 11
For details contact Deborah J. Harris, djharris@email.unc.edu, 919-962-0679

Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures
Sunday, May 11, 11:45am
Dey Hall Toy Lounge
Valerie Bernhardt, valerieb@email.unc.edu, 919-966-1642

Gillings School of Global Public Health
Saturday, May 10, 1:00pm
Carmichael Arena
Charletta Sims Evans, simsevan@email.unc.edu, 919-966-2499

Global Studies
Sunday, May 11, 3:30pm
Memorial Hall
Caroline Poole, caroline.poole@unc.edu, 919-962-5442

History
Sunday, May 11, 12:00pm
Hamilton Hall 100
Diana Chase, dmchase@email.unc.edu, 919-962-9822

Honors Carolina Open House
Sunday, May 11, 11:30am – 2:30pm
The John Lindsay Morehead II Lounge, Graham Memorial
Shandol Hoover, schoover@email.unc.edu, 919-966-5110

Environment and Ecology, Institute for the Environment
Sunday, May 11, 1:00pm
NC Botanical Garden
Rusty Rogers, rustyr@email.unc.edu, 919-966-9922

Institute for the Study of the Americas
Saturday, May 10, 1:00pm
Fed Ex Global Ed Bldg.
Shelley Clarke, sclarke@email.unc.edu, 919-962-6879

Kenan-Flagler Business School – Undergraduate Program
Saturday, May 10, 3:30pm
Smith Center Court
Kim Vaughn, kim_vaughn@unc.edu, 919-962-1650

Linguistics
Sunday, May 11, 11:30am
Rehearsal Hall, Kenan Music Building
Jennifer Smith, jlsmith@email.unc.edu, 919-962-1192

Management and Society
Saturday, May 10, 11:00am
Graham Memorial Lounge
Joseph Bongiovi, bongiovi@live.unc.edu, 919-265-3557

Mathematics
Sunday, May 11, 12:00pm
Phillips Hall Front Lawn
Susan Stedman, sstedman@email.unc.edu, 919-962-0198

Military Science (Army ROTC)
Saturday, May 10, 10:15am
Fed Ex Global Ed Bldg.
Courtney Philipee, cmpoythr@email.unc.edu, 919-962-2074

Music
Sunday, May 11, 2:00pm
Hill Hall Auditorium
Susan Williams, swms@unc.edu, 919-962-1039

Naval Science / NROTC
Saturday, May 10, 3:00pm
Tate-Turner-Kuralt Building
Janis Carter, carter1@email.unc.edu, 919-962-1198

Peace, War, and Defense
Sunday, May 11, 11:30am
Aquarium Lounge , Student Union
Jackie Gorman, jackie@unc.edu, 919-962-3093

Philosophy
Sunday, May 11, 12:00pm
Howell Hall Room 104
Katie Fanfani, kfanfani@unc.edu, 919-843-5640

Physics & Astronomy
Sunday, May 11, 12:00pm
Chapman Hall Room 201
Adrienne Smith, adrglend@email.unc.edu, 919-962-2078

Political Science
Sunday, May 11, 12:30pm
Memorial Hall
Susan Heske, sheske@email.unc.edu, 919-843-3922

Psychology
Sunday, May 11, 12:30pm
Carmichael Arena
Rachel Sparks, rachel.sparks@unc.edu, 919-843-5467

Public Policy
Saturday, May 10, 2:00pm
Trillium Dining Room , Friday Center
Mary Leigh Creedon, llmary@email.unc.edu, 919-962-1600

B.S. in Radiologic Science
Saturday, May 10, 1:30pm
Ground Floor Auditorium, Molecular Biomedical Research Bldg.
Joy Renner, Joy_renner@med.unc.edu, 919-966-5147

Radiography – Certificate Program
Saturday, May 10, 10:30am
Ground Floor Auditorium, Molecular Biomedical Research Bldg.
Joy Renner, Joy_renner@med.unc.edu, 919-966-5147

Rehabilitation Counseling and Psychology
Sunday, May 11, 1:00pm
Medical Biomolecular Research Building, Room G202
Dr. Judy Schmidt, judy_schmidt@med.unc.edu

Religious Studies
Sunday, May 11, 11:30am
Saunders Hall
Myra Quick, quick@unc.edu, 919-962-5667

Romance Languages
Saturday, May 10, 2:00pm
Toy Lounge
Jennifer Washington, camelle@unc.edu, 919-962-8173

School of Dentistry
Friday, May 9, 6:00pm
Carmichael Arena
Carolyn Oakes, carolyn_oakes@unc.edu, 919-537-3348

School of Education
Saturday, May 10, 1:00pm
Dean E. Smith Center
Anne Bryan, Abryan2@email.unc.edu, 919-962-8693

School of Government, Public Administration Program
Saturday, May 10, 11:00am
School of Government Auditorium
Sharon Pickard, pickard@sog.unc.edu, 919-843-7330

School of Information and Library Science
Sunday, May 11, 1:00pm
Great Hall, Student Union
Lara Bailey, ljbailey@email.unc.edu, 919-962-7601

School of Journalism and Mass Communication
Sunday, May 11, 3:30pm
Carmichael Arena
Megan Garrett, Megan.garrett@unc.edu, 919-962-6881

School of Law
Saturday, May 10, 10:00am
Carmichael Arena
Hannah Camenzind, camenzin@email.unc.edu, 919-962-1590

School of Medicine
Saturday, May 10, 10:00am
Memorial Hall
Ann Farabee, ann_farabee@med.unc.edu, 919-962-8337

School of Nursing
Saturday, May 10, 5:30pm
Smith Center Court
Katherine Moore, mooreka@email.unc.edu, 919-966-4260

School of Social Work
Saturday, May 10, 1:00pm
Memorial Hall
Dana Caudill, dmhedge@email.unc.edu, 919-962-6462

Sociology
Saturday, May 10, 2:00pm
Hamilton Hall Room 100
Robin Gary, garyrobi@email.unc.edu, 919-605-6408

Statistics and Operations Research
Sunday, May 11, 12:15pm
Hanes Hall Room 120
Alison Kieber, kieber@email.unc.edu, 919-843-6024

UNC Eshelman School of Pharmacy
Saturday, May 10, 4:30pm
Memorial Hall
Aaron Todd, aaron_todd@unc.edu, 919-843-9759

Other Ceremonies

Contemporary European Studies / Trans-Atlantic Master’s Program
Call or email for more information
Tanya Kinsella, tekinsel@email.unc.edu, 919-962-1602
Sarah Hutchison, sahutchi@email.unc.edu, 919-962-4567

Masters of Accounting
For details contact the MAC office at 962-3186

Masters of Business Administration
Sunday, May 18, 5:30pm
Dean Smith Center
Stephanie Peterson, Stephanie_Peterson@kenan-flagler.unc.edu, 919-962-0775